New laws for Oregon drivers take effect in 2018

For more information: David House, 503-945-5270,


New laws for Oregon drivers take effect in 2018

CLARIFYING section on three-wheel vehicles, which includes two laws

In addition to passing a major transportation funding package, the 2017 Oregon

Legislature passed a handful of other laws that will affect drivers and vehicle owners.

Most will take effect Jan. 1, 2018.

Crash reporting

As of Jan. 1, you will not need to report a fender bender if the damage is under $2,500.

This is an increase from the $1,500 threshold that had been in place since 2004.

Senate Bill 35 is raising the threshold to reflect the increase in cost to repair vehicles. In

recent years, many reports submitted to DMV because of the $1,500 threshold have

been for minor crashes, consuming staff time that would be better used for focusing on

more serious incidents.

ODOT uses crash data to make informed decisions on how to prioritize engineering the

safety of highway and road facilities, and to help provide focus for traffic enforcement

resources. Raising the threshold helps focus crash data on incidents that involve

fatalities, injuries and serious property damage.

You must report a vehicle crash to DMV within 72 hours if:

-Damage to any vehicle is over $2,500 ($1,500 through Dec. 31, 2017);

-Any vehicle is towed from the scene;

-Injury or death resulted from this incident; or

-Damages to property other than a vehicle involved in the crash is more than $2,500

($1,500 through Dec. 31, 2017).

New laws for Oregon drivers take effect Jan. 1, 2018 Page 2

Registration card privacy

Senate Bill 930 allows the owner of a vehicle to black out or obscure the residence

address, business address, mailing address or vehicle address shown on the

registration card and on proof of insurance or other current proof of compliance carried

in the vehicle.